Entrepreneur Diary: I Give Up!

Giving up is the easiest thing you can do! If an entrepreneur told you that they’ve never thought about giving up at one time or another..they likely aren’t telling you the truth! I probably think about giving up on something several times a day! The only thing I know for sure is if I quit I will never know the outcome. That in its self pushes me to keep going.

I started a project to enhance my brand and literally thought what the heck did I get myself into! Because I told a bunch of people about my project {because naturally I’m excited} I was constantly reminded that there was a due date attached to my project and as the date came closer I was asked “how’s it coming”? After about  a month in,  I knew I was not going to be ready for my launch date and day after day as I poured my heart into the project I wanted to give up because I was clueless about what I was doing..Why couldn’t I just find someone who I could pay real quick to do it for me {where’s the easy button when you need it}?

One of the perks about being an entrepreneur is being the boss…but what nobody rarely tells you is that it cost to be the boss. After shedding a few tears and woe is me I realized that it was meant for me to be in this uncomfortable position of not knowing what I was doing in order to learn a new skill. Trust me I didn’t see it like that in the beginning..It’s taken me a month to realize this! Sometimes the price for gaining your sanity is acceptance. I’ve stressed about a lot of things but the moment I accepted the fact that it is what it is and that in order to yield different results or a result period is to accept the situation and keep it moving, I was at peace and was able to produce positive outcomes.

Giving up is the easiest thing you can do…and many times it’s the one thing your competitor or hater wants you to do!  I constantly tell myself if it were easy everyone would be doing it. So about that project that I started…I missed MY deadline but I’m almost finished and I’ll be super excited to share it once it’s complete and although I didn’t meet MY expectations I didn’t give up. The best part is I’ll keep doing it for years to come…even if it means I do it all by myself {Yikes}! Entrepreneurship isn’t sexy once you strip it down and is definitely not for the weak of heart and mind. Did you notice how many times I used ‘My’ and ‘I’? We tend to put more pressure on ourselves than others do…and we get ourselves in a situation of pressure when we tell the world of our expectations of ourselves now you’ve given everyone else permission to pin you down on your personal commitments {Don’t do that}.

I hope this helps someone…just like we love a cheerful giver we also like a transparent entrepreneur. I read a lot of books and if I could recommend two books you must read and keep as a reference is Bruce Wilkinson’s The Dream Giver and Wayne Dyer’s 10 Secrets for Success and Inner Peace1! You can also create traveling books…once you read the books, send them to a friend who is or desires to be an entrepreneur so that the books can inspire them as well.

What have you recently wanted to give up on?

Comments
3 Responses to “Entrepreneur Diary: I Give Up!”
  1. Nikki Dahlin' says:

    Great article Tiff! Very uplifting and confirming! Back to the salt mine I go!

  2. Shellie says:

    Tiffini, THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I NEEDED!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love you this post!

  3. Jeet says:

    Great article. I am planning to start a business soon. Currently, in the beginning stage of understand the logic, legal issues, and a way to create milestones.

    Thanks for this wonderful post. Very inspiring. 🙂

Leave a Reply

